Chickpea and Turnip Soup

So our CSA has been great.  I have really enjoyed the challenge of creating a menu for the week with little notice.  It’s also been really eye-opening to see the vegetables that are present in my world, but I would have never thought to include in my kitchen.  Turnips are in that category.  While I love the greens, turnips, radishes and a huge rutabaga have been some of the most challenging vegetables to arrive in our bags all season.  I don’t really like radishes, so I gave them away.  The turnip greens are awesome!  I never have a hard time using greens.  Unfortunately the turnips have tended to hang out in my refrigerator–until today!

I ran across this recipe and decided it may be the way to survive turnips!

I of course made changes.  The recipe calls for you to make a spice blend, that you can continue to use in recipes in the future.  I did not do this, mainly because I was not convinced I would use this blend often.  Oh yea, and I didn’t have all the spices needed.  And, I had a huge bunch of celery-so I replaced the leeks.  And so…improvisation away!

Tracy’s Chickpea and Turnip Soup

1 pound small turnips, cut in 1” cubes

1 medium onion, chopped

1 teaspoon minced ginger root

1 overly large bunch of celery, some leaves included, chopped

2 carrots, chopped

4 cups vegetable broth or stock

1 15-ounce can chickpeas, drained well

1 large can diced tomatoes

1/2 cup plain soymilk (or regular milk, cream, yogurt, etc)

¼ t ground coriander

¼ t ground nutmeg

¼ t ground cloves

¼ t ground allspice

¼ t cinnamon

1/8 t chili powder

¼ t cayenne (adjust to taste)

Salt and pepper

I added the diced onions to a stock pot with a bit of oil and sauteed until translucent.  Next, I added the ginger, stock, carrots, celery, and turnips.  I added all the spices first as 1/8 of a teaspoon and simmered.  I then put the pot in the refrigerator and ran to school  The Philosopher added the chickpeas and put it on the stove when I was on my way home.  When I arrived home, I decided it was a little to celery flavored for my taste and added the diced tomatoes, more spices and the soy milk.  I pureed most of the soup in my blender, leaving some larger pieces for texture.

This soup was exactly what a chilly day called for.  It had all those lovely spices, a good bit of ‘heat’, and a hearty base that filled and warmed.  A grilled white cheddar cheese and Gruyere cheese sandwich made the perfect meal.  Plus, it was pleasantly orange-just in time Columbus’ trick-or-treat event; which filled our neighborhood with front lawn bon fires, wispy ghosts hanging from trees, and many nights filled with sugar-induced laughter to come.

Happy Fall!  (and happy eating!)

1 pound small turnips, cut in 1” cubes
1 medium onion, chopped
1 teaspoon minced ginger root
1 overly large bunch of celery, some leaves included, chopped

2 carrots, chopped
4 cups vegetable broth or stock
1 15-ounce can chickpeas, drained well

1 large can diced tomatoes
1/2 cup plain soymilk (or regular milk, cream, yogurt, etc)

¼ t ground coriander

¼ t ground nutmeg

¼ t ground cloves

¼ t ground allspice

¼ t cinnamon

1/8 t chili powder

¼ t cayenne (adjust to taste)

Salt and pepper

One thought on “Chickpea and Turnip Soup

  1. Pingback: Reflecting on the CSA, 2010 « Karma in the Kitchen

Leave a Reply

