Forced U-Turn

So while at work yesterday I was craving a recipe that I had made before.  Filling and aromatic, this meal I once cooked for my mother and we were nearly licking our plates clean.

I spent a few years as a full vegetarian but with the impending doom of the oil spill ruining my hope for fresh seafood, I decided to jump back on the fish-eating bandwagon.  It certainly helps that a small, locally-owned grocery store nearby has fresh fish daily and the clerks really know the products well.  They have not let me down yet… So I get home yesterday from work and head straight to the store eagerly awaiting my meal.  I approach the counter; the greeting is pleasant and friendly like always.  I ask if they have more mussels in the back.  They say, sure!  How many do you think you will need? I order my two pounds and peruse the local produce while waiting.  The clerk returns with the sad, sad news, only ½ pound in the whole store.  I was disappointed.  Thankfully, I decided that the best part really is the sauce and I should try to wing it.  And so I did.  Check out Itinerant Foodies for the original recipe with mussels.

Here’s what I did last night:

3 tablespoons olive oil
1 medium yellow onion, chopped
1 head garlic, minced
16 ounces vegetable broth
1 tablespoon sea salt
1 tablespoon Tabasco sauce (or similar)
2 tablespoons Worcestershire sauce
2 tablespoons balsamic vinegar
28 ounces canned diced tomatoes
1 teaspoon oregano
1 teaspoon basil
1 teaspoon curry powder
1 lemon, halved

Heat olive oil over medium-low heat and add onion and garlic.  Sauté until translucent.  Add stock, salt, Tabasco, Worcestershire, vinegar, tomatoes and spices.  Bring this to boil and add other veggies.  Continue to simmer until veggies are as soft as you like them and the sauce has thickened.  I added some mushrooms, swiss chard (with stems) and watercress last night.  I added the stems and mushrooms first and added the chard and watercress a few minutes before taking the sauce off the heat.  Finally, I squeezed the lemon on top, gave it a final stir, and served it on a bed of whole wheat pasta with freshly grated parmesan cheese.

This is one where you will want to have a loaf of bread to sop up that saucy goodness.  I had a loaf of French bread with homemade roasted garlic and herb butter which will be the spotlight of an upcoming post!

2 thoughts on “Forced U-Turn

Leave a Reply

