Marinated Roasted Red Peppers

I love roasted red peppers.  You know the ones.  They come in little jars?  They always look so pretty and taste so sweet and tangy?  The ones that cost a fortune and are gone in an instant? Right, those!  I love them on sandwiches and blended into hummus.  I also like to eat them straight out of the jars!  I wanted to make them.  I began saving the red peppers from my CSA (this was the hard work; not eating them raw while at the farmer’s market!).  My mother brought me two huge yellow-orange peppers she had grown and I knew it was time.  I found a few recipes online and improvised a little.  Here’s what I did:

10 peppers (red, orange and yellow) of assorted sizes (some were huge)

I roasted the peppers on the grill until they had a slight char on their entire skin.  When I roast peppers I usually put them in a container to steam off the skins, but in my research I found out this could affect the texture of the peppers.  I spread them out to cool instead.   While the peppers were cooling, I made the brine:

1 c of bottled lemon juice (do not use fresh lemons, the acidity is too variable)

1 1/2  c of white wine vinegar (5% acidity)

1/2 c white vinegar (5% acidity)

1 c olive oil

1/4 c white sugar

2 medium garlic cloves, minced

1 1/2 t salt

I added these to a pot and heated to a low boil on medium high heat.  The recipes all called for 2 c of white wine vinegar, but I didn’t have enough (oops, poor planning on my part!) so I used the 1/2 c of plain white vinegar and 1 1/2 c white wine vinegar.  Also, I doubled this, because I was worried I wouldn’t have enough brine.  I ended up having way too much.  If you have 10 peppers, this should be an appropriate amount of brine.

When the peppers were cool enough to touch, I removed the skins and seeds and sliced them into long, 1-2 inch wide slivers.

I prepared two types of  jelly jars (1/2 pint), lids, and a boiling water bath.  When the brine was boiling, I packed the peppers into the jars.  I minced up about 5 additional cloves of garlic and added a small handful to each jar.  I then covered the peppers with the brine.  Before putting the lids on the jars, use a knife to remove any air bubbles and fill with more brine as needed.  Leave 1/2 inch of headroom in the jar and put on lids and rings.  I boiled the jars in a water bath for 15 minutes.  I removed them and cooled for a few hours on my table.  All the jars sealed nicely and I now have 10 half-pint jars of peppers.  Oh the possibilities!  I will open them in a few weeks and let you all know how the turned out.

Don’t they look pretty?

One thought on “Marinated Roasted Red Peppers

  1. Pingback: Reflecting on the CSA, 2010 « Karma in the Kitchen

Leave a Reply

