Let’s just call it cake

Usually, these are the faces that are begging me for food.  Can’t you see how hungry they are?

Last weekend I had new hungry stomachs to face as the Philosopher’s parents and youngest two brothers came to visit.

Mr. Black Eye and Mr. Air Force can be some tough customers at my table, but I think this weekend I managed to fill their tummies, at least a few times.  Friday night, The Philosopher, his dad, Mr. Black Eye and Mr. Air Force suffered through a difficult wrestling match at the Ohio State University.  In the meantime, the Philosopher’s mother and I enjoyed a light meal, hot beverages, fabulous pastries, and great music at Mozart’s Cafe.   We joined together for family game night enjoying English Muffin Pizzas (with home-canned marinara sauce and fresh mozzarella cheese), “cake”,  and steaming cups of hot tea.   I bet you are confused about the quotation marks around the word cake.  I certainly would be.

The quotations are present because when the Philosopher’s brothers asked what it was, I stumbled saying “Let’s just call it cake“.  This is an adapted recipe that I have been using when I want a sweet bread, but don’t have the 60+ minutes to wait by my oven.  Here’s the recipe I used for The Philosopher’s family, but I have other highly encouraged adaptations I will suggest at the end.

Banana and apple butter cake

2 mashed brown bananas

~1/4 c sweet potato and apple butter

1/2 c sugar

1 c whole wheat flour

1/4 c ground flaxseeds

1/4 c water

1/4 c oil or softened butter

1/2 t vanilla

1 t baking soda

1 t baking powder

1/2 t salt

1 t cinnamon

1/2 t each dried ginger, nutmeg, and ground cloves

1 eggPut all ingredients in bowl and mix until well incorporated, ~3 minutes.

Pour in an 8″ round pan and bake at 350 for 20-25 minutes or until a toothpick comes out clean.

Now, I know what you are thinking.  There’s not enough sugar, there’s too much healthy stuff.  Tracy, you cannot convince a teenager that this healthy bread-like thing, without icing, is cake.  OK.  Maybe you are right, they may not have been convinced that I served them cake, but they happily finished off more than one piece each.  I am sure if you asked Mr. Black Eye how he feels about whole wheat flour, he would reply with something like “Ew!  I only eat white bread!”  Mr. Air Force would probably have a few words to say about flaxseeds and sweet potatoes also.  No one had anything to say as they brushed whole wheat crumbs off their lips that night!

Other ideas for this cake?  I think you could use any fruit you liked; applesauce and bananas could be good together.  I also thought that baked and mashed sweet potatoes could be especially good here.  I have made this with my mashed and frozen pumpkins from my CSA also.  Each time, I receive raving reviews!  The fruit keeps this super moist without too much oil.  I bet you could ice this cake with a light glaze and call it coffee cake.  Sure you can, it’s your kitchen!

We started Saturday morning with ricotta pancakes and miniature fritattas.  All in all, a successful weekend of culinary arts.  Also, a great opportunity to spend time with our family before Mr. Air Force returned to work. And as always, I am thankful for rich memories, deepening relationships, and enjoyable Columbus weekends!

Leave a Reply

