Turning an Oops into an Ohh

Elimination Diet: 15 hours, 28 minutes

As I told you all, I was going to attempt to make granola bars for our breakfasts.  I adapted a recipe that I had used before, hoping that agave would act like maple syrup and stevia would act like sugar.

Almost Mistake #1:  It is hard to cook without my usual ingredients.  I almost sprayed the pan with vegetable (soybean) oil. 

Almost Mistake #2:  I accidentally purchased non-allergen free cashews, so I couldn’t use them in my granola bars.

Almost Mistake #3:  I bought a variety of dried fruit:  craisins, raisins, apricots, mixed berries.  The craisins and mixed berries had added sugar.  Thankfully I caught it, but only after adding it to the nuts.  I had to pick out all the dried fruit just in case I mistook a blueberry for a raisin.  (See the pile in the back of the picture?)

Actual Mistake #1:  Granola bars never set.  They maintained a crumbly, yet delectably yummy texture (and they smelled great!).

Actual Save #1:  Turning granola bars into granola.

If you would like to make gluten-free, peanut-free, sugar-free granola, here’s what I did:

3 1/3 c oats (read the packages carefully, many are not gluten-free)

11 packets of Stevia (or ~4 T)

2/3 c oat flour (simply put oats in blender or food processor until a light powder forms

1 t salt (I left this out since my nuts were salted)

1/2 t cinnamon

1 c raisins

1 c flax meal

2 c coarsely chopped nuts (I used almonds and pistachios)

1/3 c cashew butter

1/3 c almond butter (you could just use 2/3 of a cup of either butter alone)

4 T safflower or grapeseed oil

1/2 c agave

2 T water

First stir the dry ingredients and nuts together.  In a separate bowl, whisk the oil, agave and water.  Add both bowls together with the nut butters and stir together well.  This is where you should not follow my directions.  You should turn the oven onto 250 and layer some of the mixture onto a cookie sheet lined with parchment.  Bake, mixing every 5-10 minutes until golden brown.  I am not sure how long this will take total to bake.  I pressed mine into a 13×9 pan first baking 35 minutes, hoping they would be bars when finished.  Then I baked on a cookie sheet an additional 15 minutes.  I suspect it will take about an hour.   Just be careful, burnt granola does not turn into an ohhh!

I think I missed the vanilla I usually add (vanilla often has alcohol and sugar, making it a no-go).  I think that for my next batch, I will add a vanilla bean to the wet ingredients and let it meld together happily for a bit before stirring together.

New breakfast plan?  Granola with almond milk and fresh fruit.  Blueberries and bananas see like a good place to start, huh?

I am trying to get some prep work done for the next few days.  I just finished cooking some garbanzo beans for hummus in the pressure cooker and am soaking more beans for dinner tomorrow night.  For now, I am going to sip my last cup of coffee for a while and enjoy a final egg.  Tomorrow morning will arrive very quickly!

Wish us luck!

4 thoughts on “Turning an Oops into an Ohh

  1. Pingback: Planning Time « Karma in the Kitchen

  2. Pingback: The Diet: Day 1 « Karma in the Kitchen

  3. Pingback: The Diet: Day 2 « Karma in the Kitchen

  4. Pingback: The Diet: Day 4 « Karma in the Kitchen

Leave a Reply

