The Diet: Day 7

One week in, how are we doing?

We have nearly finished my granola, so tomorrow will likely be the last breakfast with it featured until I make more.  We also still have a bunch of lentils and veggies from Day 4 that will suffice for lunches tomorrow.  I went to the store today in preparation for tomorrow’s dinner.  I plan to try to replicate Chipolte’s veggie burrito bowl.  I am making black beans, fajita veggies, and cilantro-lime brown rice.  We shall see how it turns out.

I just finished baking carrot muffins for breakfast for the next few days.  These guys are my take on a recipe in “Flying Apron’s Gluten-Free and Vegan Baking Book” by Jennifer Katzinger.  Of course, I made changes.  The most important was to go from three mixing bowls to two.  Dishes are important to consider.   Do you want to wash muffin tins and a grater and the measuring cups and the measuring spoons and the spatula and the whisk and the three mixing bowls?  I don’t think so.

First, peel and grate 1 1/4c carrots (between 4-6 depending on the size of your carrots).  Set aside. (I left them on my cutting board).  The picture is of the peelings which I froze to make vegetable stock.

Measure and mix 2c brown rice flour, 1 1/4c garbanzo bean flour, 1/4c ground flax, 1 1/2 t baking soda, 3/4t kosher or sea salt, 1 1/2t ground cinnamon, 1/2t nutmeg, and 1/4t ground cloves together.

In a second bowl, combine 1c safflower oil, 2c water, 2c agave syrup, and the beans from one vanilla pod.   I found this nearly impossible to mix together due to separation.  So don’t fret if you find the same problem.  Slowly add the wet ingredients to the dry ingredients.  When you have emptied one bowl add the carrots to it.  Also add 2 1/2c unsweetened coconut and 1 c golden raisins.  You can also add 2 c of chopped nuts (walnuts or pecans would be best, but I have not found any that are peanut-free at my local store) but I left them out.

Pour into greased muffin tins and bake at 350 for 20-25 minutes, until the tops are firm to the touch.  *Hint:  I greased my muffin tins with safflower oil.  I simply poured a little oil in and used a kitchen towel to spread it around.  Since I don’t remember the last time I purchased paper towels, this works well!

*Note:  This recipe made 2 dozen muffins.  The recipe said it would make 15, but I have no idea what size of muffins the author made, they were definitely larger than my standard muffin tin.  If this seems like a lot, halving the recipe could be perfect!

Of course I had to taste the batter, since for once there were no raw eggs to worry about.  I had high hopes for the muffins after the first taste!  And the first warm bite did not disappoint.  Other thoughts, I totally don’t miss eggs or gluten.  I think there is enough oil and other moisture adding items that the texture is exactly what you want in a baked good.  I would make these again.  Maybe with grated granny smith apples next time.  Or some of my frozen pumpkin puree from our CSA.  So many options!

2 thoughts on “The Diet: Day 7

  1. Pingback: The Diet: Day 10 « Karma in the Kitchen

  2. Pingback: The Diet: Day 11 « Karma in the Kitchen

Leave a Reply

