The Diet: Day 9

Well folks, I lied.  I told you I would have an update yesterday, yet as I am sure everyone kept checking back expectantly, nothing appeared.  The Philosopher and I decided to go out to dinner last night to one of our favorite restaurants that we were pretty certain could handle our tricky diets.  We ventured to Easton to visit the newest member of the Northstar family, for the first time since they opened this summer!  We are behind the curve.  The staff were extremely helpful last night and our two veggie burgers without cheese and bun were fantastic.  Washing it down with carrot juice, I say yes!

Today was back to cooking.  We have now finished all our previous dinner leftovers.  I cooked black beans in the pressure cooker yesterday and made some new brown rice.  Tonight, I did my best burrito bowl imitation for dinner.  To flavor the rice I sauteed garlic in some olive oil, added cumin, tomato paste, and a splash of lime juice.  The beans were seasoned with cumin and chili powder.  I cooked up jalapenos,  a red bell pepper, one yellow squash, one zucchini, and a pound of mushrooms in basically the same manner as this dinner. I added a few slices of avocado to the top.  As our “cocktail”, I squeezed fresh lime into sparkling water.  It was delicious!

Now, on to dessert.

Tonight I attempted a gluten-free, sugar-free, vegan apple pie.

The basic recipe came from Flying Apron’s Gluten-Free and Vegan Baking by Jennifer Katzinger.

First, soften 1 1/2c coconut oil in with your mixer, should take ~1 minute.  Then add 3 c brown rice flour, 1 t kosher salt, 1/4c plus 2T agave and 2-3T ice water.  Mix until soft dough forms, ~5 minutes.  I found that my dough was extremely sticky, maybe closer to cookie dough, even after I added more flour.  The recipe says you do not have to refrigerate, but my first attempt at rolling the dough out failed.  After a few minutes in the fridge, the coconut oil hardened up again and rolling out was simple. 

Divide the dough in half and roll out into an 11-12″ circle.  I used parchment so it was easy to put in my pie pan.  Trim as needed.  Par bake at 375 (on baking stone if you have one) for 15 minutes or until golden (this took only about 10 minutes for me).

While baking, peel, core, and slice 5 apples (I used granny smith).  Toss with 1t cinnamon, 1/2 t nutmeg, 1T arrowroot powder (find in the spice section of your grocery store), 1/3 c maple agave, and juice from 1/2 lemon (or 1T of bottled lemon juice).  Place in par-baked bottom.  There will be a lot of apples, don’t worry, they will cook down when baked.  Roll out the other half of the dough and place on top of the filling.  Press the layers of dough together and cut 4 slits in the top to allow steam to escape.  Bake on the bottom rack of the oven for 50 minutes or when apple juices are bubbling and beginning to solidify.  Check the pie halfway through baking, if the crust is nearly brown enough, cover the pie with foil and continue baking (I used foil 25 minutes into baking).

Cool as long as you can stand to wait.  Then eat your yummy pie.  Then smile.

I am not going to tell you this was exactly the same as grandma’s apple pie, but it was pretty damn good.  The crust was flavored well, I didn’t miss the butter.  The texture was slightly different, but I found it appealing even if it was different.  From the pictures you can see, it crumbled pretty easily and did failed to make a perfectly beautiful slice.  My thought, I should make this crust again.  Just like regular pie crust, practice can only improve the final product.  Good thing I am starting from a pretty yummy place.  This recipe will be saved and repeated again.  In the meantime, we are eating well!

3 thoughts on “The Diet: Day 9

  1. Pingback: The Diet: Day 10 « Karma in the Kitchen

  2. Pingback: A Philosophical Birthday « Karma in the Kitchen

  3. Pingback: Easter: New and Old « Karma in the Kitchen

Leave a Reply

