The Diet: Day 10

Spring always comes with surprises, like a dusting of freshly fallen snow on my spring flowers yesterday.  The strength of tulips and daffodils to withstand freezing temperatures assures me that I too will survive the cold, dark days of finals week and emerge upon spring break soon.

I also suddenly remembered all the food I stored to get us through the winter and began realizing that our CSA will begin in another month or so and I still have a ton of stuff in the freezer!  So, for breakfast, I decided to use some the pumpkin puree from the fall.  We received a bunch of pumpkins from our CSA and I spent an afternoon last fall roasting and pureeing the insides and toasting the seeds (after they had served as decorations on our front step for a few weeks, of course!).  I froze 2c servings and have made muffins and breads with them often throughout the winter.

This morning, I decided to make pumpkin waffles.  Unfortunately, I forgot that I had never purchased cooking spray that can be used on this diet.  Therefore, pumpkin waffles became pumpkin pancakes quickly.  I used a few recipes for proportions, but could find no recipe that fit all our dietary needs.  So here’s what I did:

First, I added the vanilla seeds and pod from one vanilla bean to 2c almond milk and stirred together.  Let vanilla flavors mix well until needed.  Remove pod to use with wet ingredients.

Sift 2 1/2c all purpose gluten-free flour, 2 1/2t gluten-free baking powder, 1/2t baking soda, 1/2t salt, 2t cinnamon, 1t ground ginger, 1/2t nutmeg, 1/4t cloves, and 1/2t xanthan gum.

In separate bowl, whisk almond milk, 1 15 oz can pumpkin puree–not pumpkin pie filling (or n my case, 2 c defrosted pumpkin puree), 1/3c safflower oil, and 1/3c agave.

Add the wet ingredients to the dry ingredients.  Stir in 1/2-3/4c old fashioned gluten-free oats.  I used 3/4c, which would have been perfect in waffles, but made pancakes a little too thick.  Let the batter rest for ~5 minutes to allow oats to soften.

Make waffles according to directions of maker.  Or grease pan with coconut oil and pour pancakes.  Serve with maple flavored agave or roasted apples.  Enjoy!

We will be eating leftovers from Day 9 for dinner and will have hummus and veggies, apples with cashew butter, and leftover muffins for lunch.

Spring always comes with surprises, like a dusting of freshly fallen snow on my spring flowers yesterday.  The strength of tulips and daffodils to withstand freezing temperatures assures me that I to will survive the cold, dark days of finals week and emerge upon spring break soon.

Spring always comes with surprises, like a dusting of freshly fallen snow on my spring flowers yesterday.  The strength of tulips and daffodils to withstand freezing temperatures assures me that I to will survive the cold, dark days of finals week and emerge upon spring break soon.

One thought on “The Diet: Day 10

  1. Pingback: The Diet: Day 11 « Karma in the Kitchen

Leave a Reply

