The Diet: Day 11

We can claim that this was a cleaning out the fridge and freezer cooking day.  As mentioned yesterday, I recently realized I had a ton of stuff frozen to use this winter that I haven’t gotten to yet.  Today, I decided to make more gluten-free breakfast muffins using zucchini and yellow squash I shredded and froze for bread.  I used the same recipe as Day 7, but substituted the squash for the carrots and raisins.  I still added coconut.  One thing I hadn’t considered was how much liquid is in summer squash.  I omitted the water in the recipe and still ended up using a little more brown rice flour and garbanzo flour to thicken it up.  I have to say that they aren’t nearly as far from my mother’s zucchini bread as I feared they would be.  In fact, they are quite delicious!

For dinner I made an Indian-styled dish with fridge leftovers; spinach and green beans.  First, I pressure cooked some garbanzo beans, I used the equivalent of one can in the dinner.  Next, I warmed 1t mustard seeds in olive oil until they popped.  Then I added 4-5 pinches of garam masala, 1/8-1/4t cayenne (depends on personal preference), 1/2t ground coriander, 1/2t ground cumin, and 1/2 t turmeric,   I added a bit of coconut oil after the herbs were fragrant and added one sliced onion.  When tender, add 2 cloves of minced garlic and a good grating of fresh ginger (1 or more tablespoons).  Then I added about 1 pound of fresh green beans and one can of unsweetened coconut milk.  I covered the pan and allowed to simmer for about 5 minutes until the beans were nearly soft.  I added ~1c frozen peas and 1 c garbanzo beans.  I simmered until the peas were warmed and wilted a few ounces of fresh spinach.  This was served over rice to happy bellies.  A gentle heat from the cayenne was balanced well by the coconut milk.  The other spices warmed my palate and the slight crunch of the vegetables and beans offered a great texture.  All in all, it was a great dinner.

My puppies were jealous of our meal and protested by looking pitifully cute.

What did you eat tonight?

One thought on “The Diet: Day 11

  1. Pingback: The Diet: Day 13 « Karma in the Kitchen

Leave a Reply

