The Diet: Day 21

Yesterday was my third day of spring break and I decided it was high time for come cookie baking and eating.  Who says that taking away gluten is the same as taking away baked good yumminess?

These cookies were super easy and quick to mix up.  They baked easily and I doubt you would miss flour or real sugar in them.  Trust me, these puppies are good!  They totally filled that sweet craving.

Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

Mix 1c gluten-free oats, 1c oat flour (I put 1c oats in my blender until powdery), 1c almond meal, 1/2c unsweetened, shredded coconut, 1/2t salt and 1/2t cinnamon together in a bowl.  You could leave the coconut out, but I think it was a nice touch.  I was also thinking a tablespoon of nut butter could be a nice addition in the future.

In a separate bowl, I mixed 1/2c agave, 1/2c safflower oil and 1/2t vanilla.

Add the wet ingredients slowly into the dry until well incorporated.  Form ~1″ balls and flatten slightly.  Bake at 350 for 12-15 minutes until browned on the edges and slightly crispy.

For dinner I made a soy-free stir fry.  This has been hard, not being able to use soy sauce.  Mostly because it imparts such a dept of flavor in the background of food.  Last night, I thought I would try a take on one of our favorites, peanut sauce.  I used tomato paste and dried porcini mushrooms for umami. Here’s what I did:

First, I reconstituted 5 dried procini mushrooms in hot water, until they were softened.  I rinsed the mushrooms well and squeezed out the excess liquid.   I added the mushrooms, 2t sesame oil, 2 cloves chopped garlic, 2T minced fresh ginger, 1c water, 1/2t salt, 1T tomato paste, 1t coriander, 2/3c almond butter, 2T agave, 3T unsweetened rice wine vinegar, and 2t Asian chili paste (read your labels carefully, some have sugar added!) to the base of my blender and pureed until smooth.  Please, taste and play around with your seasonings!  More ginger?  Sure!  More vinegar?  Yes!  When I was happy with mine, I sat it aside and stir-fried some veggies and prepped rice noodles.  The sauce is pretty thin, but when you add it to the veggies it thickens over the heat and coats them well.  I used yellow squash, broccoli, and frozen peas for dinner last night.

While nothing beats a good peanut sauce with the loveliness of soy, this was exactly what I wanted.  Slightly sweet yet savory and salty.  Filling and warm, like our local good take-out meals always are.  All you purists may shudder, but we are eating well here!

One thought on “The Diet: Day 21

  1. Pingback: The Diet: Day 33 « Karma in the Kitchen

Leave a Reply

