The Diet: Day 33

A better title for this would be “A Go and A No”.  I made two recipes today and one was certainly a “Go Out There and Make This Now” recipe.  The other recipe may just be a “Nah, Don’t Bother”.  Can you guess which is which on sight alone?  I bet you can.

Let’s start with the “Go” since you probably would rather make a recipe that turned out well.

Garbanzo Bean Crackers

Stir together 1c garbanzo bean flour, 1t salt, 1/2t GF baking powder, 1/2t turmeric, 1/2t paprika, and a dash of cayenne together well.    Add 1t safflower oil and stir together.  Add 4-8T of water.  I added 3T and stirred well and kept adding water until I could form a ball with the dough.  I needed about 5T total.  Place the dough in the refrigerator for 10 minutes to rest (I covered mine well and it rested overnight).

Roll the dough out thinly and cut with a knife for pizza cutter into ~1″ squares.  You can also use cookie cutters to make fun shapes (how about fish for your kids?).  You can also be lazy and refuse to make each a perfect square, letting the ends stay ragged on some.  Prick with a fork to let out the excess air while baking.  Bake at 350 degrees for 10-15 minutes.  The edges should be lightly browned and the crackers should be fairly firm to the touch when they are done.  If you can easily press down on the cracker, as if the dough is still soft, they need a few more minutes. This makes about 2 dozen crackers.  You may want to double or triple the recipe if you plan to serve these at a party!

The Philosopher has just been munching on these alone.  I planned on making a white bean hummus-inspired dip to go with them, but they keep disappearing before I get the chance.  I think we may be onto something here.  What’s next?  Buckwheat crackers?  Brown rice crackers?  The sky’s the limit!

They turned out so well, I thought you would want to see another picture!  Don’t they look a lot like those fake cheese crackers kids love so much?  I bet you could fool your child into loving these healthy snacks!

Now, onto the “Nah…”  I am posting the recipe with the hope that a brave reader and friend will take my feeble attempt and actually make good cookies.

Coconut, Sunflower Seed and Oatmeal Cookies

The surprise is how they fell apart the moment you touched them.  Oops.

I based this recipe on one I made recently.  I am now eliminating all sugar from our diets, including agave.  I thought I would try to make these cookies without the raisins or agave.  And I did.  And they are ho hum.

First I made oat flour by putting 1c of GF oats in the blender until flour-like.  I mixed the oat flour, 1c GF oats, 1c almond meal, 1/2c shredded coconut, 1/4c stevia, 1/2t salt, and 1/2t cinnamon in a bowl together.

In a separate bowl, I mixed 1/2c sunflower seed butter, 1/2c safflower oil, and 1t vanilla.  I mixed the two bowls together and refrigerated for a few minutes until slightly hardened.  I formed balls using an ice cream scoop (I figured it was getting tired of living in the drawer) and flattened the balls slightly.  I baked them at 350 for 12-15 minutes or until the bottoms were golden brown and the tops were fairly firm to the touch.

The problems:  they fell apart pretty easily and they taste an awful lot like the stevia.

The good part:  they are nutty and crunchy and slightly sweet.  Pretty much what I want in an oatmeal cookie.

This recipe may happen again, if I can figure out a “glue” to substitute for the agave.  And I learn to like the after taste of stevia.  Thoughts?

3 thoughts on “The Diet: Day 33

  1. Pingback: A Philosophical Birthday | Karma in the Kitchen

  2. Pingback: chickpea flour cheez-its « with a little luck

Leave a Reply

