The Surprises of Summer

Please forgive me.  I have been an absentee blogger.  I promised lots of CSA-inspired recipes and have failed to deliver.  Its not that I have not been cooking, I have.  It’s not that I don’t have lots of time on my hands.  I do.  Unfortunately, sometimes life just fills that time in unexpected ways.  Like this one.  6 hours were spent one evening in the emergency vet.  This is what happens when you decide to have dog-children.  Sometimes you have to have a cone of shame at  your house.  Although we now call her “Flappy Ear Penny”, we still totally love her.  I mean, what’s not to love?  Look at that cone-headed beast!

This week’s CSA was gloriously summery!  We received 7 various squashes, 2 hot peppers, 1 1/2 pounds of tomatoes, 1 pint of tomatillos, 1/2 lb of green beans, 1 melon, 2 eggplant, 2 green peppers, and one bunch of basil.  It’s been a week’s worth of cookouts.  Our block watch celebrated National Night Out with a potluck cookout.  I keep saying it, but it’s still true, we have great neighbors.  While our house isn’t usually included in the block watch, we have been welcomed to their events, newsletters, and local crime updates.  We carried grilled squash with fresh basil and oregano down the street and soon The Philosopher and I were talking to neighbors new and old.  We shared recipes and gardening secrets, heard stories about our street from years ago, and broke bread with our community.  All good things in the Karma in the Kitchen world.

Last night, The Philosopher, our neighbors, some family, and a friend spent a few hours enjoying the fountains at the Scioto Mile.  And evening of grilling adventures followed as each of us managed to run out of gas in our grills before all of dinner was cooked.  Ah well.  I am certain the children never wiped smiles off their faces.  Thankfully, I made a roasted salsa verde right before we left for out water adventures.  As you can see, I had one of the world’s largest tomatillos (seriously, I think it rivaled a tennis ball!).  I peeled and rinsed my tomatillos and popped them on the grill (I still had plenty of gas then!) with 3 jalepenos, 2 large garlic cloves, 2 medium tomatoes, and one onion, quartered.  When everything had browned nicely, I popped the ingredients in the blender with the juice of 2 limes, 1 teaspoon of coarse salt, and 1/2c of fresh cilantro.  After a few minutes of whirling I tasted and decided it may be too spicy for some of the younger diners.  I added one avocado and blended it up well.  The finished product was perfectly spicy and creamy.  It was a delicious dip and a perfect snack while we waited for the rest of dinner to finish cooking on the stove.  Oh summer.  So full of [wonderful] surprises!

3 thoughts on “The Surprises of Summer

  1. I LOOOOOVE this salsa. It tastes like summer. And you know what I love even more? That Steve hates tomatillos! Yummmmmmmm…

    • Susan,
      We finished the rest of the salsa tonight on Maui Maui fish tacos with a squash, corn, and pepper slaw.
      How fortunate that you can have all the tomatillo salsa to yourself!

  2. Pingback: Departing The `Bus | Karma in the Kitchen

Leave a Reply

