Canine Karma

Sophia:  Do you smell that?

Penny: Yum! But you know that when Tracy bakes, she never shares with us.

They were wrong this time.  The oven was filled with puppy treats today.  I haven’t made dog bones in a long time, the last time they were holiday gifts for my doggie owner friends and family.  I did not do a cost calculation, but I suspect that my batch of bones, made with ingredients I would eat myself, probably cost less than the high-end grocery store versions I usually buy. They were easier to make than cookies and smelled delicious.  The Philosopher thought they were people cookies!

I know you are reading this and trying to figure out if you are really about to read a recipe for dog cookies.  Here’s the thing.  Rachel and I write about how we use our kitchens to support and build our community.  In my house, the puppies are a pretty integral part of our lives.  They are our cuddle partners when we watch movies.  They bask in the sunshine with us while we eat lunch on the patio.  They hike with us to keep us fit.  And help us meet neighbors and members of our new community while at the dog park.  We don’t chose to break bread with them in the same way as our human friends, but caring for their needs is a small price for the benefits they offer us.  So, today I baked dog treats.  Jump on the bandwagon.  Your puppies will love it!

I adapted a few basic cracker recipes to create these.  I still have a large selection of gluten-free flour from our diet, so I integrated them into the recipe but you could use a mix of whole wheat and unbleached white flour or only plain flour. Doing a little research revealed that while garlic can be harmful to dogs in large quantities, in small amounts is repels ticks and fleas, naturally.

First, mix together the following dry ingredients:  2 c flour (1/2 c garbanzoflour, 1/2 c brown rice flour, and 1 c unbleached white flour), 1/2 c old fashioned oats, 1 t baking powder, and 1 t garlic powder.  Add 1 c of peanut butter (Use the real stuff, the oil should separate.  It’s better for you and better for the doggies!).  Next, I added 1/2 c chicken stock and 1/2 c water.  I did not have homemade stock, so I diluted it with water.  If you make your own stock and can control the seasonings, use a full cup of stock here, the pups will love it.  I found that my dough needed a little more flour, so I floured my counter top and mixed more into the dough by hand.  I rolled the dough out til it was approximately 1/4 inch thick.  I used a pizza cutter to create biscuits.  If you have an appropriate cookie cutter and these are for a gift, use it here.  I have seen fire hydrant and biscuit-shaped cutters, but my dogs don’t know the difference.  And you readers would think I was even crazier if I baked cookies in perfectly cute shapes.

 

 

 

 

These guys didn’t spread out at all.  So you can put them together closely on the cookie sheets.  Pop them in a 375 degree oven for 15-20 minutes.  I found that the thicker cookies took closer to 20 minutes, but some were thinner and were crisp and golden after 15 minutes.  I removed the thin ones after 15 minutes and popped the rest in for a few more minutes.  If you are more careful at rolling out the dough than I was, you can likely resolve this problem.    Place them on a rack to cool.

 

 

 

My pups tasted the recipe.  I received barking good reviews from the doggies.  This made exactly enough to fill my dog treat container.  I know it’s hard to tell, but I have two happy customers here!

 

 

 

 

 

 

Take good care of your canine community.  It’s good for your kitchen karma.  Another great way to take care of your doggie friends is by reading my friend’s blog or by liking her facebook page.  She’s an excellent dog trainer, volunteer, and owner.  And a great, engaging writer.  Trust me, you will learn something and your pups will thank you!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

